LongDarkTeaTimeoftheSoul

By Nigel

Rye Smile

A day of great fun and frivolity that started with cleaning the wooden floors (not much fun there but they have been bugging me for a while) before heading out to the ever popular Cask and Barrel (whose website seems to be stuck in 2004) for a few of 2007's World Beer Awards 'World's Best Ale', Harviestoun Bitter and Twisted and Portsmouth vs Newcastle (0-0 but quite exciting). Ont he way down Broughton Street I noticed Artisan Roast which, being a coffee lover suprised me that I'd passed it so many times and never been in, so I picked up some Rwandan Red Bourbon coffe beans for tomorrows hangover.
When Jen finished work we grabbed some supplies from The Cocktail Emporium, namely some 3 Year Old Havana Club Rum, a bottle of Sazerac Rye Whiskey and a bottle of Limoncello.
I was particularly excited at the prospect of havin ga Manhattan made with proper Rye whiskey as mostly bars make them with bourbon and I was not disappointed, its a much tastier drink without the added sweetnes you get with most bourbons.
It all descended into drunken hilarity after that, the attempts at Guitar Hero were a truly awful spectacle, but From Dusk Till Dawn seemed even more hilarious than the first time I watched it.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.