Every photo tells a story

By 5strings1

Foxglove

I had about an hour to kill while I was waiting for my good lady to get her hair sorted out after a brief holiday. I take a walk around a local park and there is always something new to see. I saw rabbits, frogs, ducks, water hens and damselflies, as well as many stunning displays of Rose Bay Willow Herb. I wasn't really haappy with any of of these shots so instead, I have submitted an image of a Foxglove. These are beautiful perenial wild flowers, and I know that many people have them in their gardens. I have always wondered who named these flowers as they have. I do remember as a child reading a book with an image of a fox trying on one of these "gloves" I know that the idea would seem quite ridiculous now, however I still have a chuckle to myself when I see these flowers. There are varieties of these with white flowers, and I like to see plump bumblebees trying out each flower for pollen. I wanted, with this image to present a fairly bucolic image, even though this park is situated next to a large motorway junction with huge electricity pylons. This is an oasis of calm in a desert of storms. When you get out of the car, have a little stroll, you don't notice all the noise around you as you take in the feast before you eyes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.