One of five a day

By KiloRomeo

Edinburgh from Above

Thank you for coming around to say hello yesterday. It made me feel very welcome. What a lovely place blip world is!

Day was lovely ...so I slept it off ...mostly ...plan to see the Mardi Gras parade in the city remained just that ...a plan.

When most people were settling in for the day, I set out for the highest point around the city, the Pentland hills, particularly the dry ski slope.

I've run up these hills a few years back with the Edinburgh Triathletes, but today just trekking uphill with my camera gear was a struggle.

I had plenty of time to kill before the Sunset, so I sat and waited on the windward side of the highest peak. Mistake, because by the time I wanted to shoot, I was too cold to hold the camera steady. Still, the tripod was intended to be used and it was.

So this is how Edinburgh looks from the Pentlands, when it is preparing for the festival ...alright, on any given night when the visibility is half decent. (see large) The only identifiable landmark is Arthur's Seat from near where I blipped Holyrood Palace 2 nights back.

The other competing view from tonight was this. I settled for the one that had the identifiable landmark.

Learnings from tonight... it would have been easier to come back downhill if
1. I had skis
2. I knew how to use them
3. I had infrared vision

So I celebrated when I reached the bottom of the slope by taking another pic.

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.