Bonny Flooers

First of all, I would like to thank all you blippers who took the time to have a look and comment on my birthday blip yesterday.
Although I say that I write and blip for my own amusement, there's no doubt that having nice things said by fellow blippers is very encouraging and makes me feel good- so thank you all very much.

This morning, his Lordship and I decided to take advantage of the fine weather and cycle down the coast to Dirleton a little village with a ruined castle near North Berwick.

We started early and just as we were about to go through Holyrood Park, there was a cracking sound followed by a rush of air from my front tyre and I had my first puncture for ages.

Sir Galahad at my side came into his own and had the tyre off and a new inner tube in place before I could say Jack Robinson.
What we didn't know then and what we know now is that there was a big cut on the side wall of the tyre which miraculously didn't produce another puncture in the next 45 miles of badly surfaced road.
Had we done the correct thing and checked the tyre to start with, we would have turned back and missed a great morning's cycling.

East Lothian was blooming today under a wall to wall deep blue sky. Any clouds that dared to appear on the horizon were solitary, like tiny flying saucers and quickly vanished.
The fields were bursting with crops of barley interlaced with the reddest poppies you could imagine, dark green healthy cabbages, and leeks, and bordered at the roadside with a myriad selection of wild flowers in every hue.

Across the Forth, a deeper blue than the sky, sat the coastline of Fife a patchwork of yellow ripening fields with hazy hills behind.

There was just enough of a cool breeze made it a perfect day for cycling, but I have to admit to being a bit tired as we climbed back home from Musselburgh.
The patio never seemed so desirable with the Sunday papers and a leisurely sit down.
Whether I will get up again for quite some time, is a matter for conjecture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.