Master Mariner

By MasterMariner

Safeguard

Early this morning, we passed Horsburgh Lighthouse, the eastern entrance point of Singapore Strait. It was extremely busy with shipping traffic. We had to follow the westbound lane for an hour or so before we had to cross both the westbound and the eastbound lane on our way to Batam. When you are towing this is more or less the same as crossing both lanes of a busy highway with a small child on your hand walking very slowly. But we managed to reach Batam safely and started running anchors for the Hermod immediately after arrival.
When the sun came up, the United States Search and Rescue vessel Safeguard passed us close by, I thought it was a rescue tug so the choice for todays blip was an easy one. But now I am not so sure if this is a tug only. Tomorrow I will fly home so I guess this will be my last blip for this trip, see you next trip.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.