More Pensioner Tales

After lunch, it was such a fine warm day that I strolled around the business park as far as the water feature and was delighted to come across the bust of Hamish Henderson: poet, songwriter, scholar and so much more. Last time I'd seen him was at the Bar in Sandy Bell's and he'd caught my eye and declared, "I know you". I muttered that I'd surely seen him at a reading or two over the years and that seemed to satisfy him. I was dead chuffed - though well aware he didn't know me at all.
Anyway, not long after this, a local MP telt me the story of how Hamish found himself quoted (apparently being supportive) in a Nigel Griffiths election leaflet. Nige was probably the most careerist toad of all New Labour MPs and Hamish of course, was somewhere between being a marxist and a Scots Nationalist when he wasn't full time on the whisky. Let's say he wasn't best pleased and threatened action - 'Nigey' had to pulp the lot, ha!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.