Capital adventures

By marchmont

Gawping 2

You'll have to take my word for it but this IS a photo of Zara Phillips's rather blurred hand on the way back to Holyroodhouse after the wedding (but not, I hear, as 'Zara Tindall',  following my example!)  That's about as much of her as I saw, apart from a glimpse of the bouquet on the way to the church.  I had to wait till later, at E's to see the dress on the tv news. Zara and Mike.

It was such a beautiful day and I set off WITH the camera (unlike yesterday) to capture the sights of Edinburgh, pregnant with the Festival, basking in the sunshine.  On the way to the Meadows, just after midday,the royal helicopter went overhead, I assume having dropped of HM & HRH at the Palace.

First stop, Greyfriars Kirk where the couple who had originally booked the Canongate Kirk for today were about to have their wedding.  Heard that the 'Express on Sunday' are covering it so expect pictures later.

The Royal Mile was hooching.  Loads of folk  in the pavement cafes, street performers, market stalls, jugglers - the whole gamut of street theatre, but as I continued down towards the Canongate it was clear that a steady stream of people were off to see THE wedding.

My plan had just been to take some photos of the crowds and capture a bit of the atmosphere.  I was amazed to see the Zara and Mike flags, I'd missed the 'OK' promotion.   The route in front of the Kirk was blocked off (I hope my 'friends from last night kept their spot) and the area outside the Parliament was 6 deep so I went round the back of the Palace, watched by the police on the roof, and ended up at the foot of the Mile.  But once there - well it was a lovely afternoon, I almost had a great view and it was good fun.  The crowd were great, the police were fantastic and I got chatting to some interesting people. The band played in the courtyard and everyone and everything going up or down the Canongate got a cheer.  One of the biggest was reserved to the young members of the Canongate Kirk choir who walked down to the Palace after the wedding.

To be honest we didn't see much - cars with tinted windows, Camilla's hand waving out, Kate's big hat, Princess Anne (I think),  the Queen looking small but it was so warm and sunny, who cared.  At the end it was a bit of a 30 minute wait until  the guests'  coaches had finally gone past (did see Peter Phillips in one!) before the police would let us back up the Mile where the church was opened up so more gawping, at the flowers and the Royal pew.

More pics of the day here.

On the way back down Middle Meadow Walk at 5.30 p.m. saw the helicopter heading back to the Palace, looks like HM and HRH didn't stay for the party - ah well...

For me, it was off to E's with pink gladioli and pink fizz for an evening in the sunny garden.  Topped off the day, and the tan, nicely!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.