An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

The Bridge (This Journey's End)

Without a shadow of a doubt, my favourite public artist is Andy Scott, and whilst out and about today, I was lucky enough to pass two of his installations and speedily grab some pics of both. (From the car so not best quality. Don't worry, I was the passenger! :))

The one I have blipped is called the Bridge (This Journey's end), which is the latest of five commissions for Clackmannanshire Council. According to his website, this installation at Marywood Roundabout celebrates the opening of the Clackmannanshire Bridge, depicting two figures reaching towards one another across a gap. The sculpture hints at the concept of crossing and meeting and incorporates numerous symbols and metaphors for the area.

It really is gorgeous, but my ABSOLUTE favourite example of his work sits less than 500 yards from my own front door. She is called Arria and she is absolutely stunning.

She cost North Lanarkshire Council (well the taxpayer) £250k, which, in these times of financial hardship (or indeed anytime!) is a lot of dosh, but I think she is worth every single penny.

You can see the shot I took of her today in my Blipfolio I decided not to use that shot as today's blip as I expect she she will feature quite a bit before we move from here.

But back to The Bridge. It was really difficult to get a decent shot as added to difficulty of photographing it from a moving car, there were also lots of street lights and electricity pylons getting in the way. I have cropped it as best I can, which means I've lost a fair bit of the base of the installation as well as compromising the quality of the image. I still quite like it though.

You can see more of Andy's amazing work HERE

The rest of the day has seen D and me having a right hoot at Sterling trying out big squashy sofa's for our new house! Great fun! :D

Enjoy what's left of the weekend Blip Pals :)) x



Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.