[blowfish]

By blowfish

grisled

Two things about that leather belt buckle: 1) actually purchased it in Austin from a vintage clothing store, before I knew I was going to move up to Fort Worth and the real kicker, 2) it has my initials (BC) on the front side--I wonder who this BC was. Somehow, though, none of this is quite as interesting as the fucking belt it is attached to (from the same 'hip' Austin vintage clothing store) which has rifles and goddamned sheep and pigs burned into it. Yeemotherfuckinhaw.

And speaking of Austin and hip things, I meant to link the other day this pilot episode of Whisker Wars, a show on IFC following burly folks on the competitive facial hair growing circuit. Austin is featured prominently and I actually knew Allen Demling pretty well when I lived there (he rode in the social cycling scene and we shared many of the same good friends). I can grow a dense beard myself but these dudes are from a whole other fucking galaxy.

Leah and I are still determining what my own 'beard threshold' is, that is, how long I can grow it before she is completely disgusted and leaves me. Well, patience can not be a strong suit with me sometimes so I don't think I have it in me for anything like these furry lads.

Again, everything is BIGGER in Texas. No, really, this works better blown up.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.