Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

The Caw of a Crow

"A CROW was jealous of the Raven, because he was considered a bird of good omen and always attracted the attention of men, who noted by his flight the good or evil course of future events. Seeing some travelers approaching, the Crow flew up into a tree, and, perching herself on one of the branches, cawed as loudly as she could. The travelers turned towards the sound and wondered what it foreboded, when one of them said to his companion, ?Let us proceed on our journey, my friend, for it is only the caw of a crow, and her cry, you know, is no omen.?

Those who assume a character which does not belong to them, only make themselves ridiculous"


- Aesop: The Crow and the Raven

I decide to nick through a carpark en route to the train station this evening. I noticed the light of the setting Sun on some apartment blocks past the far side, but as I headed that way I saw a murder of crows. This one was at one point rubbing its head along the branch scratching an itch or something, and I managed to get I think quite a good pic with Mrs Tsuken's little Fuji Z20fd.

I then desaturated it, sharpened it, lowered the white point and (I think) put in a very slight S curve to try to bring out as much detail in the feathers as I could.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.