Mixed feelings

Today was odd. We went to the lake at Gastes late in the afternoon (a rare day of no rain) where the children played on the sand and paddled in the water. Then we went into Parentis for dinner before heading over to Biscarrosse for the Toro Piscine.

Now, for those that don't know, bull fighting is still quite a big thing in the south west of France, but it would seem that even more popular with families is the Toro Piscine. Cows are used instead of bulls and the animals are not killed. Apparently it is a standard part of summer when you are growing up in that part of the country. In Biscarrosse it happens twice a week during the summer.

I have ethical issues with bull fighting itself and did consider how I would feel about Toro Piscine. However Harry went last year and was keen to take us to see it (it would be the highlight of the holiday he said) and I told myself that if the animal isn't hurt then it isn't a problem.

Basically what happens is that inside the ring is a small paddling pool (the 'piscine' part). Men from the audience come into the ring and then the cow is released. Basically the men have to avoid being knocked over by the cow and also try to get it to run through the pool. There are variations but that is about it.

Here is a youtube video of the Toro Piscine in Biscarrosse.

I was surprised by my reaction to it.

It felt uncomfortable. To me it felt like they were goading the cow. Several times the cow started pawing at the ground and looking this up online I saw that this suggests the animal is either distressed or angry.

I ended up taking out my book and reading it so that I didn't have to watch. I felt uncomfortable about the children watching it too but it wasn't the time there and then to do anything about it. I didn't want to upset Harry.

In the end I left about half an hour before the end as Beth was tired (it was about 10pm by this point) and so my in laws were going to take her home whilst Dale stayed till the end with Harry (we had gone in two cars and planned for this).

This picture is of Harry waiting for it to start.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.