Brian's Bits

By Kanyl

In vino veritas?

Library day.

El Supremo goes through books like a bookworm on speed.

I, on the other hand, while lightyears from illiterate, tend to read silently no faster than I would aloud and also tend to treat all fiction as fact inasmuch as I kinda proof-read as I go and have been known to check back several pages.

Notable example ... A bunch of baddies (6) had ''done the dirty deed'' with a cowboy's wife and he, logically, was out to get them all.
Which he did.
There is, of course, a huge
HOWEVER ...
at one point I did a head count ...
Thinks..."That's not right"... Went back a dozen or so pages and checked.
Sure enough: He'd killed the same baddy twice.

Any way. To the subject. We always travel with a book each in the ruc-sac to accompany the cuppa. In the library I, generally, perch on the same seat every time in reach of some displayed books, one of which almost always catches my eye and I read the first few pages.
I got well on in this one and found the following.

It could well be the subject of a debate.

''Thanks to cultural impoverishment, young people no longer have a repertoire of songs, poems, arguments or ideas with which to entertain one another in their cups. They drink to fill the moral vacuum generated by their culture, and while we are familiar with the adverse effects of drink on an empty stomach, we are now witnessing the far worse effects of drink on an empty mind.''

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.