Abstract Eyes

By abstracteyes

The Wedding Day

The Wedding Day. What an amazing sight. The vows were read at the edge of a bluff overlooking the lake. One of my longest friends gazing into the eyes of his bride. Both happier than words can express.

The reception. Beautiful. And well let's be real......much of it was spent chasing my son all around the grounds throughout the entire celebration because he made some new friends and if they weren't throwing rocks into the Koi Pond, they were rubbing dirt on their arms. Boys. Not necessarily being naughty, just busy busy and feeling the need to explore.

..........until the music started. When the music started, I had to keep a close eye on my son because I could see him edging towards the 'first dance' with break dancing on his mind. I could see the wheels churning in his brain and he wanted to break dance. So the minute the first dance was over, I told him to go for it. He went out into the middle of the dance floor and break danced. And it was hysterical and then he abruptly stopped when he realized that people were clapping for him. That's when the shy factor settled in. But wow, what a funny little moment for him. Completely and totally carefree while lost in the music and dance.

A lot of bonding and reconnecting took place over the last couple of days. I realize again and again how fortunate I am to have such quality people in my life. To have relationships that have helped shape who I am today. And to recognize that these relationships will always be near and dear to my heart. A beautiful weekend of love and togetherness. And some really really good laughs.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.