this luminous life.

By Laura

By The Books.

The Ghost.

When it nears midnight at work, a worker will walk around the library counting how many students are left on various floors and in rooms (some sort of midnight assessment). It's kind of fun to be creepy this way -- when it's my turn to do this, I'll walk around with a clipboard, stand in a room, stare at people, count them, and then tally them off while they stare back, confused. Today, I had the chance to do this and took my camera with me hoping to find a blip. I decided to go down to the first floor and take photographs in this area that I've been meaning to blip before. The only problem I have with my camera is that I've never been able to get both the foreground and background in focus. Therefore, I took a few shots in hopes of merging them together to get the whole thing in focus.

I decided to play around with Helicon Focus,
the program that The Blackcountry Man played with a few days ago.
While the photos I used aren't probably the kind
that the program would be used for,
it was still fun to play around! :)

All taken from basically the same position:
Original #1.
Original #2.
Original #3.

The posted blip is the result of merging #1 and #2 together.
This is the result of merging #1 and #3 together.

I also tried merging them in photoshop (by adjusting the opacity of layers) and this is the photoshop result of #1 and #2; this is the photoshop result of #1 and #3. Not the greatest photos, but it was fun to play around a bit more than usual, experimenting with possibilities. I like the Helicon Focus versions better. Maybe next time, I'll have better photos to use (preferably something smaller, like a flower) if I am able to find some before the 30 day trial is over!

Another blip choice -- taken on the counter at work.
I love the reflections in the countertop.

[A year ago today... hole in my jeans.]

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.