jumping

Ben has been No-Nap Ben again today, and at about 5.20pm this suddenly became very apparent to him when I left him upstairs (he wanted me to build towers for him to knock down) to go and fetch his drums and the washing in from the garden.

However, with daddy coming home, and a little light tickling to wake him up a bit, I left him with daddy while I made a quick dinner. I got a text message a few minutes into cooking saying "he may be awake, but he's clearly in need of sleep, he's gone a bit gaga!"

We had pasta up in the living room with Ben bouncing off all the cushions that he's flung on the floor. And using cushions to drum on the bin and subwoofer with. And then bringing the bin over to the sofa to use as a seat while he shared the pasta. And putting it back again.

Then Ben learnt how to throw a ball in the air and catch it again! He could only do this while standing on the back of the sofa. Of course.

Followed by more jumping.

And bouncing.

And drumming.

And, as I was on the floor taking pictures, Ben decided that I evidently wanted to go to sleep so he covered me in cushions (and his pyjamas to cover my face) and told me to shhh and close my eyes and go to sleep. "Want go sleep? Shhh daddy, mummy sleeping!"

And finally, bouncing into his night nappy and pyjamas, bouncing from the bathroom into his bed, chattering and singing to himself while I wondered if I could get away with not going in to nurse him to sleep.

(Of course I didn't get away with it, but it took less than 15 minutes to send him to sleep!)



Still liking this upstairs-ness.

Apart from, the kitchen really could do with being on the same level as the living room. Really really.



We're watching some program on how architecture and interiors make a huge impact on people, and thinking how our house is basically a very well designed space. The general layout works. It's stood the test of time for over a hundred years. But, it's evolving to suit our needs, it's not static. And we've noticed that it's a lot more pleasant sitting up here in the living room than it was in the downstairs living room and trying to figure out why. Perhaps it's the space behind us, the main sofa is no longer up against a wall but has space behind it. Perhaps it's the decor and colour scheme. Perhaps it's the lack of a fireguard and coffee table. Perhaps it's the different light (amazingly) that we get from being one storey up. Not entirely sure but somehow it's really different even though the layout is almost exactly the same as it was downstairs!



Oh yes - I also had a minor panic today. I thought I'd killed my camera. I've played with all different lenses today! Got the big zoom lens out to take some pictures of Fantastic Mr Fox sunbathing in next door's garden; and got the macro adaptor out to see what I could come up with for the macro challenge for today.

Took the adaptor off and suddenly the camera stopped working!!!

PANIC!!!!

Turns out I'd only drained the battery..... and the battery in the other camera was also dead....

D'oh.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.