This is Kristina's Life

By kristinaj

To Grandmother's house I go....

Long before I was even born, my mother has always equally divided her time in Connecticut between staying at Auntie Sheila's house in Milford and staying at Grandma's house in Southington.

Yesterday, we drove up from Milford so that we could go to Sunday brunch at Grandma's favorite restaurant, The Stonewell. Even though she passed away almost exactly two years ago, Mom, Karin, and I still keep up with Grandma's favorite traditions. Tomorrow will be the traditional New Britain day (visit the cemetery where Poppy--and now Grandma--are buried followed by pizza lunch at Paradise Pizza.

When Grandma moved into the nursing home, Mom bought Uncle John out of his half of her condo. She and I are extremely sentimental and we couldn't handle the thought of selling Grandma's house. I'm really glad she bought it because now we have a home of our own to stay when we come to Southington.

Today us three ladies went to my sister's favorite restaurant on the East coast: El Sombrero. Her status on facebook certainly proved her love for this place: "At El Sombrero, the site of my eventual wedding and funeral receptions!"

After lunch, we stocked up on some incredibly overpriced booze at the nearby liquor store and headed home, where I quickly wandered off to the nearby lake. It always amazes me how much this lake transforms throughout the year. In summer, it's every shade of green you could ever imagine. In winter, it's a completely barren and desolate winter wonderland. I remember chasing the geese constantly as a little girl. I love coming to Grandma's house.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.