Back and Forth thru time

By pingufivemins

Epic

Theres a guy around these parts who goes by the name of 'Surfer Jon', and every year about this time i meet him at a secluded beach at a ridiculously early time in the morning, hand over a large amount of money and spend the next couple of hours upside down in the water with an oversized ironing board banging up and down mercilessly on my cranium while i aspirate copious amounts of sea water.

Surfer Jon often tells us that they are 'monster waves' and says 'epic' a lot, he also says Alnmouth is rubbish for waves....today he was wrong!

The girls and i went body boarding early this morning, and you could tell it was going to be good by the speed and height of the waves..

you could tell it was going to be really good when, as a big wave hit me and gave my hair a good washing without knocking me over,
i just managed to keep my feet, when the second wave hit me, and before i fell over, i saw the bottom of my daughter's bodyboard and her legs pass right over my head, which sort of means the wave she was on must have been 6-7 ft at its peak...

bloody nora it was good, scary but good, we lasted for about two to three hours before a combination of adrenalin, fear, common sense and need for bacon butties drove us to the shore..

we're going back tomorrow, and it may be that this year we cancel our appointment with Surfer Jon, we could have all the epic we can cope with!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.