challenge

By jkj10

Naughty Horse

Oh I just lost ten minutes of typing! I want to pull my hair out. Copy paste, copy paste!

We decided to give in to the teens request for a lie in this morning and headed into town without them in search of some proper coffee. We found the most charming cafe filled with locals and had the most divine Milanese capuccinos. The light flooding in through the window gave the baristas the most beautiful glow and they kindly allowed me to photograph them. The people of Reykjavik have been so incredibly welcoming to me and my lens. Without exception everyone I have stopped has allowed me to photograph them. They have all wanted a little chat and I have been so pleased to hear about their everyday life. The light has made my project a joy. All I have to do is engage the sitter and the light does the rest.

We went to hear the chamber choir sing at the Hallgrimskirkja Church. At one point the brightest light broke through the windows lighting them from behind. It was the closest I have come to a religious experience in some time.

We have been hearing about the Iceland horses since the minute we arrived. The people of Iceland are very proud of their horse which are all descendants from one blood line. I had imagined a gentle ride through majestic landscape but I fear the reality was very different. It was clear to me from the get go that I was sat upon the group hooligan. I should have asked for a different horse but I didn't want to make a fuss. He just would not behave. Including taking me for a rather terrifying cantor with dusty lava flying everywhere. I just had no choice but to hang on for dear life. About ten minutes into the trek I could hear my sweet lad behind me sneezing. When he finally caught up to me I could see that one of his eyes was swollen shut and his face was covered in hives and welts. Poor kid. He is still suffering even after the antihistamine.

This lovely guide here with my terrible pony is half Icelandic and half Spanish. She was so unbelievably lovely and chatty. I really enjoyed photographing the staff at the horse farm.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.