Sgwarnog: In the Field

By sgwarnog

Bradford Film Strip

There are small pieces of public art all over Bradford, sometimes right under your feet.

I've explored the city's cinematic heritage in this blog before, notably with Billy Liar Steps, and there are some other locations that I will bring you before long.

This installation, The Bradford Film Strip, lies just outside the Cineworld complex, where my summer holiday duties took 6yo and I to see The Smurfs movie this afternoon. Smurftastic! The three films featured here are Room at the Top (for which Simone Signoret won Best Actress Oscar), Billy Liar and The Railway Children, all of which were filmed on location in the city. If they were doing it today, I wonder if The King's Speech would sneak in, thanks to Odsal Stadium substituting for Wembley in that film.

Coincidentally, this is two days in a row that I've blipped a Bradford pavement, but tomorrow we're heading south to Berkshire, and the next ten days should give me a chance to bring you some new sites and places.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.