SomeGuyInNJ

By SomeGuyInNJ

Stars Burn, the World Turns

Experimental shot tonight.

Recently I have been wanting to do a long exposure of the stars but the sky has not been clear. Unfortunately now the sky is clear the moon is coming up before it is dark and is also nearly full. This means that the moons light brightens the night sky severely limits the amount of stars that can be seen.

So tonights shot is more of a practice/proof of principle shot. Its a bit washed out from the moon light but I am pleased with the results.

The streak across the middle is plane either coming down into or coming up from Newark which is about 30-40 miles east.

The exposure was for about 20 minutes and I was facing roughly north so that I could capture the relative spin of the stars in the sky around the center of the axis of the earths rotation. My plan when weather and lack of moonlight allows is to take a lot of these shots and then blend them to capture even bigger streaks.

I have shots to backblip for the days I havent blipped this week, but I'm going to bed now instead :-)

Oh yeah... More detail large

This week I have been a mess of blipping and back blipping overlapping...

Heres the week for those interested...

- Guess the movie character
- Ready for impact
- Stars burn, the world turn
- A mommy and little monster moment
- Wained on wabbit
- LBG in B&W
- Flutter-by Butterfly

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.