Framing the Fort

By TheHairyCoo

Feeling Alienated?

I take my hat off to this man.

Put simply, he was brilliant. And brought an awful lot of joyful perplexity to everyone at Belladrum.

Many dressed up, and did a great job, but this guy spent a huge amount of time in his spaceship. He'd rigged up a speaker, replete with voice changer and interacted with bemused passers-by. He occasionally got out to exhort the crowd into some weird "alien" pursuit, usually to gales of laughter but with little participation. I'm delighted to report I did the "Alien Dance" with gusto - I think he was as impressed as he was surprised ;-) Not only that, my daughter (who'd declined to sing for him) confessed to being a little sad she hadn't sung after seeing me dance.

And that's one of the key lessons I want to teach my kids; there are 2 kinds of people in the world, Participants & Spectators. It's so tempting to be a spectator, not put yourself out there and stay safe on the sidelines laughing as others look silly trying. But this isn't a rehearsal.

No-one says "I wish I'd spent more time avoiding looking silly & sneering at others" on their deathbed, do they?

Wise up.

Get in the game.

And dance like a loon with the very next alien who asks.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.