Arizona Dreamin’

By laurie54

Sole

Another trip to Tubac. It is about twenty-five miles south of me and fifteen north of the Mexican border.

I was fooled by the outward appearance of this shop. I had no idea what I'd find inside. I was intrigued by that long narrow "snake" birdhouse and I loved the lizard lamp. The bench looked so inviting.

The name of the store, Sole, befit the merchandise. Leather goods, primarily boots. All hand sewn. Gorgeous.

I love this small art community. Galleries, shops, even a deli. There are two main streets with alleys tucked between them.

Businesses are especially hurting this year. Not only because of the economy (not too many $1500 pieces of artwork are being sold) but because of the Monument wildfire that was a couple of miles from there in June.

Come fall there will be a festival and the community will be humming. I hope they bounce back. Tubac is a jewel in the Arizona desert.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.