rack focus

By noahd1

Dekalb Market, worker

I do not take many portraits mostly because I am too shy to ask strangers, but I do enjoy a portrait here and there. This man was laughing when I first heard him and said "paparazzi", which I think was directed at me. Apparently a woman was ducking out of a photo I'd been taking, but I didn't notice. Friendly enough I asked if he minded if I took his photo and he kindly obliged.

I snapped 2 shots. In the first shot, the man put on a tough guy expression, not sure why. He seemed to perhaps think that's what I wanted, or how he wanted to be perceived. As you can see, moments later, he loosened the expression.

The Dekalb Market is a new open air market in Brooklyn that has only been open about 4 weeks now. It had a live jazz band, a ping pong table (used, won), little stores in shipping containers, a garden, and local artists. Neat concept, I will be back.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.