Turtle Island Warrior

I fell in love with this fellow at art camp and had to bring him home to live in my house. He is now ensconced in our display case that also has our small collection of Native American art and a few family photos and memorabilia. We shifted everything around and took out one shelf so he would fit. Now he is prominently displayed front and center where he gets good natural light from our skylight.

I came to know him as he was being created by professional ceramic artist Sara Swink. She taught at Menucha the first week and then attended the same ceramic workshop with Dennis Meiners that I did. I watched Sara create this sculpture and he was the inspiration for Georgina, my large sculpture that met its demise when the kiln floor broke. I fell in love with this fellow and she agreed to sell him to me when he was complete. And here he is. When Arvin saw him he was very happy that I had bought him.

View in large to see more detail in the sculpture.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.