Occasionally Focused

By tsuken

Rosella in the Rising Sun

Outside the air was sweet, the sun shone, and the birds sang, and it seemed as if all nature were tuned to a different pitch. There was gladness and mirth and peace everywhere, for we were at rest ourselves on one account, and we were glad, though it was with a tempered joy.

- Bram Stoker's Dracula


It was a nice morning this morning. As I walked to the train station I saw a pair of crimson rosella alight on a tree, and perch there with the shortly-risen sun causing them to almost glow (on one side, at any rate). One sod flew off as I fished out my camera, but this one was more obliging.

I cropped it in Filterstorm, then increased brightness and lowered contrast using a gradient mask centred very tightly on the rosella, so as to bring out the colour more like it was to the eye.

Here it is large.

Lumix DMC-G10 : f/5.60 : 1/999" : 42mm : ISO 100

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.