a town called E.

By Eej

Golden Girls/Fog



The trick is to find something that sounds familiar and comforting. No angry noises, no car chases, no hootin' and hollerin'. Something that you've heard many, many times before so you aren't straining to understand what is being said.
Something like the Golden Girls.
I had a false start where I thought I could turn the TV off, but when I heard voices outside I immediately sat straight up, so I had to turn it back on.

My theory is that because I am the youngest from a large family and often fell asleep either upstairs with noises travelling up or somewhere underneath a table in the livingroom, sounds are comforting to me.

This morning seconds after my alarm went off at 6.45AM I heard the Beloved's car pull up the driveway. Which is the only reason I had set my alarm so ridiculously early :)
But yay! We both survived!

Outside it looked like this.
Inside my head it felt like this for most of the day.


And thank goodness for quiet streets. My sleep attire + bathrobe are not really suitable for public views.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.