ART WALK FOR HUMAN RIGHTS WATCH # 4

Martin Whatson has made nr 4 in the ongoing Art Walk in Oslo.

The two pieces is called "Lost Hope".  I guess Norway lost hope 22. July and the days after when we understood how many in the govermental buildings and youngsters were killed in the terror attack.  And that there is a reason to paint over Lost as Norway as a nation has answered the terrorist that we will have more democracy, more love for each other, we are griefing together and turned the cities in Norway into seas of flowers and candles.

The other one is called "Punk is not dead".  I like the humour in this one.
To bad that writers have tagged it.

Martin is Norwegian, 27 years old and has studied Art and Graphic Design before he got into stencils and street art. His goal is to find beauty in what is commonly dismissed as ugly and create something pretty out of what most people don't even notice in daily life.

Galleries around the world have shown his art. Like most of the street artists that contribute in the Art Walk, Martin has donated his work to charity before.

I could not believe my luck that I run into Martin some blocks away and didn't know who he was before he introduced himself. I had to ask him about his name, and he explained that Whatson is not his real name. He wants two "identities", one as an artist, and then a real one for his private life.  He hates to be taken photos of, so I'm deeply grateful that I was allowed to take shots of him.  We talked for awhile about Art Walk and about our city Oslo, and I'm looking forward to see more of his work.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.