Five things

By fivethings

Giant

1. This is the first time that I have too many pictures to pick from. There's the amazing sunset which you can't see, just over my shoulder, the picnic field, the mojito bar, the plant pots, the tug of war, the snaps of good people cuddling good people and the heaving picnic table.

2. Instead I pick this shot of Karen, the host, walking towards me to tell me that the mojito bar is open. I pick this picture because of her confidence, the stride of someone who knows what's what. The happiness and relief of someone who has been through the mill and is walking into the sun with a smile on her face.

3. The invite said bring a dish and a bottle. My day didn?t allow for the bringing of a dish, instead I brought a jumbo bag of crisps and 3 bottles of cava. Luckily not everyone is like me. The table heaves with homemade Spanish omelette and cakes and buffet, buffet, buffet. I love a buffet, me, but it is all the better when it is hand made with love.

4. I haven't been to the Island since it opened six weeks ago. I find my little plant that I potted in its tin with a great big M. It's amazing to see how much the whole place has literally grown. There is a field of wild purple flowers buzzing with jumbo bumble bees. They smell beautiful and I imagine they sound like a humming chorus.

5. Caught between the lights of the Armadillo, the Crowne Plaza, the BBC, the Science Centre, the tall ship and the Riverside Museum lies an island. An island full of great people, hard working people, a beach, a park, a labyrinth and a meadow full of bees. It's gone but it's not forgotten.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.