Pretty City

I had a great bike ride into town to shop for food, and the weather was as perfect as it could be, and it was late afternoon, so when I passed by spots where tourists go and where the city looks its best, the light and the sky were conspiring with the scenery to maximum effect. This is the Washington Monument fountain at Eakins Oval, across from our art museum. Created in 1897 by sculptor Rudolf Siemering, its animals are the reason why the thing is very popular. I once asked a policeman during a fireworks show, "Who is that on the horse?" He replied that he did not know, but it might be Washington. These are the elk, but there are also two American bison, a bear, a bull, and two moose --all perfect to climb on or pose in front of. The whole ride put me in a good mood.

On this lovely day and with all these glamorous sights along my route, I thought of blipping a drab old building in which a fairly famous murder happened a long time ago, with a local anecdote thrown in. Glad I didn't!

The birds are singing, the grass is growing, the fountains are flowing, and this is a beautiful town.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.