Green Eyes

This tiger fits my subdued mood today. Quiet. Understated. A bit wistful. And I'm reading "The Tiger's Wife" too, a story that I'm enjoying but finding a bit sad as well. Not that I'm depressed, just a bit damped down. And thoughtful. Wondering what to create next and how to make my life even more in line with what I care most about.

This tiger stained glass has been a buddy of mine since I made it 22 years ago. This is just a close-up of its face. It has an interesting history. It was the last large stained glass window hanging I made when I was living in California. Actually the last ever since I never did transfer my glass making art to Washington. It was in pieces, lots of them, not yet soldered, when the Loma Prieta earthquake hit the Bay Area. I was badly shaken by the quake. The tiger survived quite well with no broken or lost pieces. I was able get it put together in time for our move to Washington the following spring. When we arrived I found it exactly fit the entry window next to the front door in our new house. And there it has been ever since.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.