Englishman in Bandung

By Vodkaman

Neighbor

We had an earthquake two days ago. I had already blipped though and it was only a tiddler, 4.8 ? 52 miles away. It rocked my flat screen slightly, but from the angle of the rocking, I could tell that it was not from the usual locations of due south over the ocean. This one was more west of my location, which kind of skewed my screen. Sure enough it was. This quake was over land, which is fairly unusual, the second land based quake this year. We get about one quake per month and one significant quake every two years or so. We are about due for a big one. There is nothing to photograph though, although I could have blipped my computer room, it looks like it was hit by a large quake. I check the quake site out daily, as part of my routine: http://earthquake.usgs.gov/earthquakes/recenteqsww/Quakes/us2011pwbz.php

Today?s blip is of my neighbor from three doors down, sorting out his fresh delivery of coconuts. He runs a small alfresco shop, selling coffee, snacks and coconut juice. He is a nice young lad, quiet, but like most in this neighborhood, speaks no English. I am embarrassed to say that my Indonesian speak is little better, despite the years spent living here. Languages I seem to struggle with, badly. My brain is wired left sided. I can remember twelve digit phone numbers, but simple words just pass through one ear and out the other and make a mess on the floor.

I stubbed my big toe this morning, badly. Like any amateur photographer, I first reached for the camera. I got a nice crop of the torn nail and a little blood oozing out. I was going to blip it, but I figured that you guys can always go to YouTube if you are in the mood for some gore, so I decided to spare you the ugly details, apart from this graphic description of course. But being the most significant thing to happen to me today, it did actually qualify for a blip. If I get twenty subbers asking for it, I will post a link to PB, LOL.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.