Guinea Pig Zero

By gpzero

My Earthquake Buddy

Ten years ago when the 9/11 attacks took place, all within a few hours' drive of me, the next person I saw, very soon after (and possibly during) the events was a fellow named Joe, and we still occasionally recall that day. I call him "my 9/11 buddy."

Today there was a benign earthquake which (some 250 miles from the epicenter) was noticed only by those who happened to be indoors. People were joking about it all afternoon. I was outside fixing a house and noticed nothing. But after the quake and before I knew about it, I took this shot of a wasp who walked by on the sidewalk. That makes him my earthquake buddy, and that's why this becomes my blip, even though there's no way it can compete with serious bug-blips, and might be less of a tale to weave than a few other pictures I took today. Besides that, I like the shadow his wings make on the concrete.

The weather here was so perfect that it was a sensual moment just to walk down the street, and cool enough to wear my favorite cap in the evening for the first time in months.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.