Old School

When I'm in Portland I have to pay a visit to Blue Moon Camera and Machine. Located in NW Portland, this store is a Mecca for film camera users and collectors. No digital here, but all kinds of film processing services along with the finest used cameras and lenses you can imagine.

This trip I wanted to find the old Nikon prime 105mm f2.5 for a friend of mine. They had two in pristine condition to choose from. Jake, the owner remembered me from a previous visit. He knew my tastes so while I was examining the 105s he brought out a Nikon 15mm f3.5 fisheye that is one of the most desirable old primes going. Not only was it in like new condition but the price was attractive too. People, both in still and in cinematography search far and wide for this lens, thought to be the finest distortion free wide angle ever made. I now own one and got the 105 for my friend as well.

This shot was taken with a Lumix GH2 and the 105 on an adaptor. I'll turn on the exif data but I doubt it will be correct so:

GH2 w/105mm f2.5, 1/200, ISO 1600 - cropped and converted to b&w.

Jake has forgotten more about photography then I know - great shop (8417 Lombard, NW Portland, OR www.bluemooncamera.com). They carry anything (non-digital) that your heart desires. The Rolli in the photo seemed a bit pricey at $1600, but it was in 10+ condition w/lens caps and a leather everready case that looked like new. They CLA every piece that enters their doors.

Have a great weekend everyone!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.