While on my runs

By waipushrink

The Tank Farm

While on my run this morning I went down to the waterfront, close to the City Centre. The sun had just come above the horizon, and in the more or less cloudless sky was too bright for direct shots. I went from the Ferry Building at the bottom of Queen Street westwards past Viaduct Harbour to the Wynyard Quarter.

As I went along North Wharf, I looked across to the Wynyard Wharf, behind which are all these tanks, known as The Tank Farm. Large quantities of fuel continue to be stored only a couple of kilometres away from the business centre of Auckland.

The sun hitting the tanks and the piles of the wharf, and their reflections in the water, was beautiful to see, and I decided on this picture of the scene. This mixture of the prosaic with the beautiful shows how sublime morning in Auckland can be, especially on such a wonderful early Spring day. Warm and sunny all day long.

Later this morning S and I drove north to see her mother and Melbourne based brother who is visiting briefly. Of course we also wanted to see the progress on the Beach House, which is at a very exciting phase as the builders close on completion, still a few weeks away. Going up again tomorrow and will be joined there by daughter and grandsons. Will try for a blippable picture.

Now back to read some of the large agenda for next week's meeting.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.