my crazy world

By crazyworld

Sorry for the rubbish pic but was on my phone.

20 years ago I went to a local forum where a team of players were putting together an ice hockey team...this became the Sheffield Steelers.

For the best part of 10 years I followed them match in match out. Followed them to Wembley...fab memories...and to so many ice arenas around the country. I watched the crowd build up from 500 to 1200. We won so many trophies but it wasn't about that...it was the atmosphere.. ice hockey is an amazing family sport and no matter how passionate people become for their team I have never witnessed any trouble at all in the rink.

I have grown up watching this team...from initially being 17 to now almost 40..had two children . E who then spent 4 years cheerleading for them.

I have only not attended many matches recently due to not being able to afford them.

Today was their 20th anniversary and they had a celebration match where they brought back their best players through the years from all over the world .. some of these had not skated for 10 or so years but you couldn't tell...watching the match was like stepping back in history but at times surreal knowing that these players will never be watched again.

If you have an ice rink near you and you have never been to a match...do it ...its an amazing sport and brilliant family atmosphere and the new players and young British players need our support.

I even went to an ice hockey game when I was in Canada...Calgary v Vancouver . The speed of the play was amazing...this is the home for the sport but the atmosphere didn't compare to being at home even though the rink was full.

It's a fab match ....go and check out your local team

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.