CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

The Mill at Brimscombe Port

Holidays are now over for us both and I drove Helena to her work near Brimscombe. I thought I would drive a little further to the site of the old Port on the Thames and Severn Canal, to do a bit of research.

The Port was a very important trans-shipment point between two sections and gauges of the canal, which formerly linked through the long Sapperton tunnel to the Thames at Lechlade. The port was filled in many years ago, but the new plans to open the canal as far as here are in action.

I took some pictures of the old Mill building which had various incarnations and is now used as offices. I was wandering around the exterior when a man approached me who turned out to be the property manager. He invited me into the building and showed me round the ground floor, which was very interesting. Not much remained of the old details of its former activities, now being mostly white walls and large open spaces filled with computers and desks. But at least this occupation allows the building to be maintained.

There were about twenty mills in these valleys at various times, some dating from the 12th century, although this mill was built in the 1700s. Quite a few of them still remain in good condition and are used for business, housing and even the Stroud District Council offices.

I find the quiet and stillness here of the flowing river Frome passing over weirs and through the leets is very calming. The water from this millpond, flows to the right and then under the building, where the power was produced formerly.

PS
I have back blipped some pictures from our weekend trip to Cornwall:
Crackington Haven

Nyima

A stilted conversation

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.