Jake's Journal

By jakethreadgould

How not to be a tourist #1

This is the day we tried and failed to find the 62m tall statue statue of the Motherland.

Sixty two metres tall. 560 tons of metal or rock or whatever. I'd tell you what it's made of if I knew, but I don't know, because I didn't see it, because we couldn't find it. It should literally be as easy as looking for a haystack in a needle. Impossible to miss. Kiev's (Ukraine's?) most famous statue.

We can find out-of-the-way hostels, tiny cafés and inconspicuous restaurants, but not, it seems, 62 metre tall war memorials. We searched for 2 hours. Or more, I can't remember. I've tried to force it out of my head.

What do you say when you return to the hostel that evening and you have to answer the question "what did you do today?"... "Ahh, y'know. Walked around for 2 hours looking for a 200ft statue. Couldn't find it..."

We went for our night train to the Crimea. Crimea fricking river. (sorry)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.