The Life of Bri

By bri

Firewood #2

So wood stacking is really just a less extreme version of dry-stane dyking then? If so I'm beginning to see the attraction of building those walls...

This is the results of yesterday's handiwork - two log stores, built and stacked.

I had been planning to build one, but when the wood arrived yesterday, Mrs B correctly pointed out that two might be more appropriate.

Got the first one finished and stacked by 7pm, but then saw the forecast for heavy overnight rain, so thought I'd better get on with the second one! All finished by 11pm (apart from the roof, so it had to make do with a tarp for now). I did stop sawing at 10pm, but still not sure the neighbours will have appreciated logs clanging into a wheelbarrow at 11.

This wood came from our local Fife tree surgeon, so it's a real mixture of types and sizes. Never one to let vanity be superceded by practicality, I stacked the best looking wood at the front for visual effect, with the more odd shaped bits at the back. But I've just realised that that means we're going to be burning a lot of gnarly, twisted old logs later in the winter!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.