Marjorie's ramblings

By walkingMarj

Now for something completely different........

We visited an excellent embroidery and textile exhibition in Hexham's Moot Hall today. A group of 12 local embroiderers meet monthly to work together, encourage and inspire each other's work. The standard was very high and well worth seeing.

A few years ago I knitted a lot of scarves in funky yarns to raise money for the orchestra I belonged to. I came across the box of left over yarns last week and started knitting again. I had no blip prepared this evening so I took 8 scarves and hung them together, using a long exposure in low light to capture the image. In the processing, perhaps inspired by today's exhibition, I decided to be a bit creative, using the liquify filter. You can see the different yarns in the scarves if you look closely. Not sure whether I like the effect or not.

I've been waiting for a phone call to go to pick up my friend's brother from the railway station. Apparently the Eurostar was delayed due to electrical failure. Then the East Coast line trains were delayed due to a fire on the line. My friend's son has arrived now en famille. They were delayed because a plane came down near Doncaster, caused a fire and the road was closed. It suddenly feels like a day of portents.

Back to the knitting I think!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.