[blowfish]

By blowfish

kevin

This is Kevin B. Kevin is the creator and sole moderator of Fort Worthology, a first-class blog on our fine city's urban issues and infrastructure. Beyond just merely reporting on urban/expansion matters in our city, Kevin (and his site) are on the front lines of actually initiating the change, sponsoring various endeavors like bike rack installation and outdoor art projects (featuring his own photography). If my understanding was correct, Fort Worthology is currently being fostered in a partnership between the well-known, well-regarded national magazine The Atlantic, to serve as a local liaison, so to speak, for visitors to The Atlantic's web page who are seeking information on specific regions and cities in the U.S.. In other words, if someone clicks on Fort Worth via the magazine page, they will be immediately redirected to Kevin's site.

So, I ran into Kevin today at Avoca Coffee, the cafe started by a mutual friend of Leah and I, Garold (there in a clearly pre-Nikon portrait), as I was working through some readings for school. We talked about his site, his Olympus EP-1(?), and, well, our fine site here. I am pretty sure that he shoots a lot of film with vintage-style cameras, in fact, I believe he even prefers it. But the light inside of Avoca is/was amazing, streaming as it does through these giant glass garage doors, and it worked out perfectly well in conjunction with this newish portrait lens I have. This shot of Kevin, despite being in the true portrait orientation (I usually prefer--as you probably already know being the careful subscribers you are my friends--landscape headshots, or even exact square ones), is actually my favorite non-Leah portrait I have ever taken, I think, because of this stunning light. Kevin's distinctly blue eyes and Avoca's painted mural certainly aid in the composition, though, no? And, well, the Trinity shirt is just gravy.

Ah, I am proud of myself--I have been productive thus far today with my readings. This criticism and theory course is certainly my favorite of the three. The four shots of espresso I had today, I said to Leah only half-jokingly, have been a major contributing factor to my blazing productivity. I've a big load of laundry going, I've showered, and I'm about to start making some dinner. Then it's back to the books--I can't wait to see what amazing adventures await our heroes, Stanley Fish and Wolfgang Iser! Onwards and upwards to those planes where only massive amounts of espresso can launch us.

_____

From the other side of the lens.

_____

better: +

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.