That Will Do!

By flumgummery

Howwwwwlllll.

I mentioned a while ago that I'd had an eye test and today I went to collect my new specs. And the Free Sunspecs.

Well, of course, they're not actually free. I paid extra for the wrap-around frames; I paid extra to have wider varifocal range; I paid extra for Polarised lenses. Just perfect for sensitive eyes like mine.

What I was offered today didn't quite match the expectation.

"These frames aren't the wrap-around ones I ordered."
"Yes, they're the same ones."
"No, look, these are a bit curved but not wrap-around like the sample you've got here."
"That's so they can fit the lenses."
"The lenses weigh a lot more than the sample."
"That's what your prescription needs, they're thicker and plastic."
"Actually, the sample's lens colour is graded, not plain like these."
"That's because they're polarised."
"So why wasn't I told that they'd be nothing like the ones I chose and paid all that extra for?"
"You'll have to speak to the technician, he won't be in 'til Monday. I'll ask him to phone you."


Exit, sans sunspecs. And sans specs, since I'll have to go back.

The wolf in the garden next to the carpark summed up my feelings.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.