More Old Stuff

In spite of my ongoing clearout, which like painting the Forth Bridge has no beginning or end, this one thing which is almost totally useless but even so I shall be keeping. It's my grandfather's match box - and amazingly it still has a few little tiny matches - very thin and about 30 mm long. I seem to remember these things being called "vespas" but a quick google just brought up scooters. The box has a rough bit on the bottom for striking the matches on. It's dated 1903 but I don't know of any special event in his life on the particular date. Not even his birthday. Perhaps a present from his girlfriend as he married about 2 years later.
Yesterdays parcel arrived safely - the marvellous Barrington Atlas of the Greek and Roman World.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.