Red Squirrel

By JJRW

Jess

Here's our beloved Border Collie Jess. She and my late OH Brian thought the sun shone out of each others backsides! So when she died aged 17 in 1998 we had her cremated and her ashes were kept in a lovely carved wood box. On 2 or 3 occasions Bri made me promise that eventually her ashes would be mixed with his (as if 1 promise wasn't enough!). He said when my time comes that mine should be mixed with theirs and then whatever I choose can be done with them. So when he passed away 29/9/09 I requested the funeral directors that his wish would be carried out, which they did with great pleasure. I managed to find a beautiful Indian carved Rosewood box of suitable size, and the funeral directors kindly transferred their ashes into it for me and hermetically sealed it. It stands on my sideboard and will stay with me for the rest of my life and then the final act will be carried out. As yet though I haven't decided what should be done with them after that!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.