The Life of Bri

By bri

Field Lighting #101 (with apologies to Strobists)

I was really pleased with my lighting setup for this shot. I know it all looks a bit un-natural, but with a bit of work and some special equipment, you can get the same effect! (All product details in footnotes).

First I placed a big Sun (TM) up high to camera-right - at almost 90 degrees to the camera. It was hard to get the positioning right, but once it was there I cranked it up to full-power. This provides the main lighting for the scene, gave me a nice shadow to emphasise the shape of the bales, and also picks out a subtle highlight on the top of each one.

Then I added a Cloud Layer (TM) to GOBO the sun off those hills in the distance, and knock down the light in the sky - I didn't want my Sun to overexpose it. I set the cloud layer to cover the whole sky - although you can unfortunately see a bit of the Sun reflected off it top-right - a bit of photoshopping could sort that out if I had the time.

In the distance, I added an extra special filter - the Really Low Cloud (TM) filter. And just to make those distant hills look nice and misty, I added a bit of Rain Shower (TM) on top.

If I could have found one, I could have added a second Sun (TM) at half-power over to camera-left - this would have preserved some of the detail in the shadows, but I think there is enough reflected light not to need that.

A Rainbow (TM) would also have been a nice addition, but I actually think they're a bit overdone - a bit like that old starburst filter people used to use.

Products Used:
Sun (TM): These are available for FREE in most all solar systems. A great piece of kit, but the running costs are obscene, so don't forget to switch it off at night.

Cloud Layer (TM): This month only these are available for free in some locations. (In the UK, free all year round). If you can, find one without any falling rain - you don't want to get that on your lens.

Really Low Cloud (TM): These extra special filters aren't always available, especially round here. But I hear you can nearly always pick one up in the west of Scotland if you are prepared to wait 15mins or so. The ones with a height adjustment knob are best.

Rain Shower (TM): These are such a versatile product - they can soften up distant views or give you a great droplet effect for close-up work. In some parts of the world people say they are hard to come by, but I've never had much trouble finding one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.