NiksPics

By youngniks

Gandalf and I celebrate

My birthday!
I'm at home with my family in Reading. Car boot sale ... first thing ... it rains but I get a nice old plant pot and some ski boots before the skies open. Home to open presents .. the photography book I wanted, a Burmese Jade pendant, a Tag watch which needs fixing but I love it and lots of other things.
Lunch at the Crooked Billet, Alasdair dosent make it ... didn't think he would. Meal is lovely but Mum's in a moany mood again.
Dash home to have a cuppa with Alasdair, Clare and Jen before heading back to Coventry.
Meet Liz and everyone else at the theatre. The place is buzzing and packed. The ticket includes a glass of bubbly and everyone's really excited. Sir Ian McKellen started his acting career at the Belgrade 50 years ago today ... his first entrance was at 7.45pm and his opening line was "I didn't come for breakfast. He spends two hours talking about his memories of Coventry and his career, Lord of the Rings and then answers questions from the audience before asking about 100 people to join him on the stage for his final act! He then talks about how important the work of our Community Department is and reminds everyone that this is a fundraising event and walks out to the foyers where he chats to everyone, poses for photos and collects £1200 in about 20minutes.
What a unique and memorable evening at the theatre .... and on my birthday!
Feel very loved ... lots of nice messages on Facebook and texts. Spent most of the day thinking Jules had forgotten, but he couldn't get through from China.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.