Bevosity

By bevwestwood

Monty, my oldest 'buddy'

Yes, it's a teddy bear!!

Yesterday's blip took me back to my childhood so today I'm carrying on the theme.

This teddy bear was given to me on the day that I was born so he's actually older than me. He had fur then and a nose!! Oh and a loop on his head so he could be hung up in my pram. Back then he was Big Ted (yes, I had a Little Ted too, and Rabbit).

He is now a very threadbare (Fredbear) bear but that is just a sign of how much he has been loved. Something that remains all shiny, new and unscratched doesn't show the love.

In my teens I read Jerome K Jerome's 'Three Men in a Boat' and immediately rechristened Big Ted, Montmorency (Monty for short) after the dog. Even now Monty travels with me when I go 'home' to my parents. He is part of me really!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.