Peninsula Light

By PeninsulaLight

Had my eyes tested yesterday, as it was time to obtain some form of reading glasses. Also to check in case there were any other issues.

This was my second eye test in my fifty year existence. The previous one was twelve years ago, which was followed by a rapid visit to the local Eye Clinic, at Raigmore Hospital. Received Cryotheraphy (a freezing treatment) to a tear in one retina within a couple of hours of that test. That should have been me sorted. Alas, no. A while later, other issues arose that entailed about five years of nasty (prescribed) drugs to reduce inflammation in the treated area. They reckoned that part of the problem was that I was too healthy!

Fortunately things weren't so dramatic after yesterday's test. And I only required some off-the-shelf glasses, at a mere £13.50. Hadn't realised the eye test was free. Thank you dear wonderful NHS, and for all the previous treatment too!

Was glad to be offered these glasses, from a simple choice of four colours. As when I first went in the place, there were hundreds of different styles on display. And I'd wondered, "How on Earth are you supposed to select a pair from this lot?!!" Of course being a bloke, I tried them on; tested them - they worked; and bought my chosen colour. Much later I realised that I hadn't looked in the mirror to see what they looked like. I've never been a fashion victim...

Comments New comments are not currently accepted on this journal.