Captivating

By katish

I just love that there is an orca on this sign. I find it so novel as an east coast girl!

Not much happening today. Walked a bit to the bay and back with Liz, and finished up my Bill Bryson book...this time I'm a Stranger Here Myself although I have In a Sunburned Country coming soon at the library :) That one I got halfway through and had to return to the east coast after our road trip had ended, and I had not read more than a few pages :P I really enjoy his writing anyway...I usually end up busting a gut, and nearly crying haha. He is observant, as well as sarcastic and somewhat self deprecating. I love it.

Here's a sample for you, lucky reader:

"I always have catastrophes when I travel. Once on an airplane, I leaned over to tie a shoelace just at the moment that the person in the seat ahead of me threw his seat back into full recline, and I found myself pinned helplessly in the crash position. It was only by clawing the leg of the man sitting next to me that I managed to get myself freed.

On another occasion, I knocked a soft drink onto the lap of a sweet little lady sitting beside me. The flight attendant came and cleaned her up, and brought me a replacement drink, and instantly I knocked it onto the woman again. To this day, I don't know how I did it. I just remember reaching out for the new drink and watching helplessly as my arm, like some cheap prop in one of those 1950s horror movies with a name like "The Undead Limb," violently swept the drink from its perch and onto her lap.

The lady looked at me with the stupefied expression you would expect to receive from someone whom you have repeatedly drenched, and uttered an exceptionally earnest oath that started with "Oh" and finished with "sake" and in between had some words that I have never heard uttered in public before, certainly not by a nun."

Ahhh, and he goes on. Good anecdotes. Funny travel stories, and some life insight. Very enjoyable.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.