Life of Riley

By jenceng

Humpback Whale - California 1/10

Day 1 - Monterey

First morning after arriving in Monterey we were out on Sea Wolf II for a spot of Whale watching.

I think I'm pretty lucky to have seen this beautiful humpback whale, photographed in colour and not black and white as it appears.

The whale trip leaving the harbour is lovely and calm; saw "Pink-Blue" the meany sea otter featured in "Million Dollar Baby" about the Californian Sea Otters and the stinky, but beautiful sea-lions on the harbour wall.
Once you leave the harbour our boat Sea Wolf picks up speed as you head out in search of Whales. If you ever find yourself in Monterey and would like to see Whales, the information they provide is brilliant as it is run by marine biologists, but you will need to wrap up really warm as I had (& was still cold) and take a sea sickness tablet (as I hadn't done). In total I went out on 3 of the 5 whale trips, and was only sick on this one and just managed to keep my breakfast down for the other two! It was worth it though!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.