hoodedpigwoman

By hoodedpigwoman

Wasp's Nest

EEK!

I went to measure up for insulation under the eaves in the dormer bedrooms, as the cowboys who 'renovated' my house obviously didn't consider that necessary. I hadn't really noticed it was so cold until I put the baby in the front bedroom last winter, cos I sleep in the back.

Gerry cut me a hatch (not Godfather Gerry, although he is also super). Everybody needs a Gerry, as my mum says. I'll have to think of some jobs so I can blip Gerry....

Anyhoo, I went in there and wriggled round the corner and LO! There was a massive wasp's nest. I poked it gently but the middle had fallen out, so it was clear it was a dead one. It was easily the size of a football. I had to put my head underneath it to go further and it was giving me the creeps, so I bashed it a bit.

Then I thought 'how stupid, I should have taken a picture of that', because they are rather beautiful So this is the middle of it.

I'm still a bit creeped out about it though.

I actually just remembered now that I killed the poor wasps with ant powder because the man who was replacing my TV aerial a couple of years ago was having hysterics about wasps when he had to go out the dormer window onto the roof, and I didn't want him to fall off and sue me.

When I puffed the stuff under the tiles he kept shrieking "you're making them angry!". I think he was called Tony. He was nothing like as useful as Gerry.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.